Reading Narnia with the kids

During our first try at TV turnoff week (yes, we did turn it off for a WHOLE week!), one of the neat things that we did was to start reading The Chronicles of Narnia with Isaac and Bailey.  Kim had already wanted to begin extending their attention span by reading chapter books, instead of the normal picture / word kid books.  She started with a short Berenstein Bears book, and I picked up with Narnia.  The momentum of the recent movie made it an easy choice!

So far, I have really enjoyed reading to the kids.  Isaac seems to enjoy the story and remember several details.  Bailey is also enjoying the story too, though currently two chapters at once is too much ("I'm getting sleepy Daddy!").  We have borrowed a single volume from a friend which arranges the books into chronological (not published!) order.  Thus, The Magician's Nephew is first.  This book sets the stage for the other books.  I don't mind that it "spoils" mysterious parts of the story right up front; in my opinion, it is the story flow that counts.  I had previously read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, but that was about 12 (!) years ago.  Anyhow, I am really excited both to read the books to the kids and to get to read them for myself.  My interest in reading is rising again (my momentum was dead) such that I may finally read The Lord of the Rings books.

As many people are, I am highly impressed with C. S. Lewis.  He had such an outstandingly creative and bright mind, and used it to glorify God after he converted from skepticism. Both his fiction and non-fiction books are well written and thought-provoking.  He even wrote a science fiction series (The Space Trilogy: Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength) that stretched the imagination about faith in the setting of other worlds and other life forms, as much as the Narnia books did for faith in a mythology and fantasy context.  It has been over 15 years since I've read Mere Christianity and Miracles; I am now getting some energy to revisit those classics too.  A Grief Observed inspired the excellent movie Shadowlands, starring Anthony Hopkins and Debra Winger.   

Lewis has many other writings that I want to read as well.  I hope that now I have gotten over the hump and can begin enjoying them again — and for the very first time as well!

Published in: on May 5, 2006 at 2:13 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://markcrxac.wordpress.com/2006/05/05/reading-narnia-with-the-kids/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

