Update to Borg … Narnia

In my post My Favorite Borg, I mentioned discovering the Star Trek Fan Collective sets.  I got the Borg set and have now finished viewing it.  It was really outstanding.  The 14 episodes (or 16, if you break up Dark Frontier and Endgame into their original versions) covered many aspects of the Borg.  In fact, I had never seen from Voyager: Scorpion, Part I on.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Although Scorpion, Parts I & II were pretty good (though obviously borrowing from B5), probably my favorite of the new episodes was Dark Frontier, Parts I & II.  The story and acting were top notch.  I'd still have to say that my overall favorite Borg stories are The Best of Both Worlds, Parts I & II, along with Star Trek: First Contact (not in the set).  It was nice to reboot my ST interest, as I have all but exhausted the B5 material.  Now it's on to STFC: Time Travel!

As for Reading Narnia with the Kids, I have been continuing to read with the books in story order (not published order).  We started with The Magician's Nephew, then went through The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.  We are now two chapters in to The Horse and His Boy.  I continue to be impressed with Lewis and his ability to translate the faith into compelling fantasy myths.  The kids seem to be not only following the stories, but (at least moderately – !) enjoying them as well.  I am committed to reading with them for a long time.  I know that it will be rewarding not only for them, but for creating cherished memories for me too.

Published in: on June 26, 2006 at 1:16 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://markcrxac.wordpress.com/2006/06/26/update-to-borg-narnia/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

