Reading ‘The Hobbit’ for the first time

Well, I read the seven book Chronicles of Narnia set to Isaac sometime ago.  I really enjoyed that, as I had never previously read six of the seven books.  I had read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, several years ago but did not enjoy it nearly as much as when I read with Isaac (and sometimes Bailey, too!).  So, the literature adventure continues, as I decided to read The Hobbit with Isaac.  I have seen The Lord of the Rings movies (but not read the books — yet; I do plan to) and I was told that The Hobbit, which was written first by J. R. R. Tolkien, does a lot to enlighten the stage that is occupied by LotR.  I have not been disappointed so far.  In fact, it is getting pretty good.  The travelling party of several dwarves, Mr. Bilbo Baggins, and Gandalf the wizard have just met Beorn, a strange man / bear like person (we’re only in the 1st part of the ‘Queer Lodgings’ chapter).  Isaac is engaged too; we are eagerly anticipating the voyage through ‘Mirkwood the Great (Wood) … There Are Spiders’.  It’s the spiders part that has anticipation at a high level with Isaac.  I expect to enjoy the remaining 60% of the book as much as the first 40%!

Published in: on August 8, 2007 at 10:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://markcrxac.wordpress.com/2007/08/08/reading-the-hobbit-for-the-first-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

